Posts from the ‘old blog’ Category
Worth a mention, good for a laugh
TGIF…it’s a “feature” day at BD@BS!! Last week I missed, but the week before was a good list. Let’s see if we can get some good laughs in today…on with the sideshow!
book lust – I think this was on my list once, but I don’t mind it showing up a second time. Snippets of life from a young women thirsting [lusting] after books.
the last nail – I found this site long ago via Blogger’s suggested sites. It needs to be updated, but I am pretty sure the pictures alone will make you laugh. Follow along as the author tells stories of renovating his house.
courier blues – Flip through the images as a courier in Miami drives around and takes pictures of his delivery runs.
Library Man – After checking out a lot of his pics on Flickr I started flipping through his blog and reading about his adventures in the life of a librarian.
Clown Basics – Not a blog, but if you forget the basics of being a clown…the animations will walk you through your day.
Some people are slow
Now what I am about to say is a total and complete rant like no other. I vented about this last night and it’s really not that big of a deal; so I’ll add some humor and I’ll indulge the story a little to make it more fun. :)
The first semester of school came to a close last week and I had a few days off before hell starts in my life. Hell being: class Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights. Work is from 8am – 5pm and class from 6:30pm-9:30pm … it takes me about 35-45 minutes to get home from work and 10 minutes to get to school from home. Day one of hell was last night … little did I know how “interesting” this class was about to be.
So let’s just get to the meat of the story. The teacher is reviewing the course syllabus and guidelines, typical first day. The assignments can be done in the lab, the lab is located down the hall…he’ll stay as long as the lab is open to help the students. He also says that most of the people that go to the lab will get their assignment done that night in the lab…you are not required to do your work in the lab, but it has to be submitted to him online when you turn it in. He [teacher] says that homework assigned Monday is due by midnight Tuesday and homework assigned Wednesday is due by midnight Thursday.
–PAUSE–
Right here my wheels start to spin and I really want to ask a question, but I do NOT want to be “that guy” within the first 5 minutes of the first class. I wait, but no one asks a question. I don’t want to ask what’s on my mind because I know I will regret it, but I have to know; the answer isn’t worrying me, it’s just asking the question … continuing on …
So no one asks a question and the teacher continues to the next topic, test or grades … I don’t honestly know because I can’t figure out why out 45-50 college kids that are supposed to be in their 3rd or 4rth year of school it just so happens that I am the only one with a question. I hate these moments. I know what it’s going to come down to: I have to ask. I KNOW there is at least one other person in class that has to be thinking what I am thinking …
The moment of truth arrives and I am not happy to go for the sacrifice.
teacher: Are there any questions?
me: [hand up, called on] Yes, um I don’t want to be a stickler or over technical here, but …
t: [smiles] no no! Please ask!
me: Well you said the assignments for Monday are due by midnight Tuesday …
t: yes
me: well when you say midnight do you mean a few hours after class or // cut off
t: no I mean midnight.
–PAUSE–
This is a common mistake that everyone makes, I even make this mistake. However, it is FACT that midnight is the first moment of the day. 11:59 pm is the previous day and midnight is the next day. At this moment I know the teacher is a smart guy so I want to give him the opportunity to clarify and make it look like I am just a typical confused student and not a smartass … while he can look like he just made a little mistake. That’s all it is, a little mistake.
me: right, but midnight is in the morning
teacher AND 20 students in class: no midnight is at night
[dirty looks from students and snickering]
–PAUSE–
Now I’m pissed. Apparently even with the benefit of the doubt, my fellow students are all on the same “I’m a f**king moron” bandwagon. At this point I should shut up, but now I’m torqued and I am going to prove my point that half of my class is a bunch of morons and I can’t believe that more idiotic people are going into the business world.
me: [embarrassed and turning red] midnight is at night; midnight Tuesday is between 3 and 4 hours after class on Monday. Do we have 3 hours to do the assignment or 26 hours?
CLASS: NO! Noooooooo …
teacher: No, midnight Tuesday… //cut off…yup I cut him off
me: You mean, assigned homework on Monday’s class is due Tuesday by 11:59 pm. There is a difference between midnight and 11:59 pm
t: [smile] well yea, midnight Tuesday so you have a full day … well a day and a 1/4 of a day.
me: Right. 11:59pm Tuesday and 11:59pm Thursday — not midnight. okay, I just wanted to make sure.
t: fine.
So at this point half of the class still thinks I am the moron when really I’ve just asked a question and crucified myself over a mistake the teacher made. His comment about the lab and getting the work done in the lab vs. going home to finish it gave his comment about it being due at midnight validity – and I didn’t care if I only had 3 hours. I just wanted to make sure I didn’t head home and do other homework when I really needed to do that class’ homework. Is that so bad? Next time I’ll just wait until after class and be the only one with the right answer …
Get the facts, or the facts will get you. And when you get them, get them right, or they will get you wrong.
– Dr. Thomas Fuller
Scorpio – InfoSpace
Interesting…with all the pictures I have been taking one might think that they got this one right for a change. I have been having a blast with the camera lately…I spent part of the day at a local nursery taking pictures and trying to get used to the color settings. I got a few awesome shots too! I mean I don’t think I am spotting a new career opportunity; but I am enjoying the hobby.
“Creativity shouldn’t be confined. Creativity can — and should — come into play in every single aspect of your life. What can you do to make sure that you give your imagination space to live and grow? Be playful, be open and be free. If necessary, get yourself to a playground and play on the swings for a few minutes. That feeling as you’re soaring through the air? That’s the kind of thing that will stimulate your imagination post-haste.”
Daily Horoscope: Scorpio – InfoSpace
I can pass tests
So apparently taking a short little quiz can tell you a whole lotta nothing! It;s not all it;s cracked up to be…but if you really want to, I think Emode used to have an awesome IQ Test, but they were bought by Tickle…not sure if it’s any good; but if you’re curious, you know where to go.
Blogthings – Your Quick and Dirty IQ score:
| Your IQ Is 135 |
![]() Your Logical Intelligence is Exceptional Your Verbal Intelligence is Genius Your Mathematical Intelligence is Genius Your General Knowledge is Genius |
Worth a mention, good for a laugh
TGIF…it’s a “feature” day at BD@BS!! Last week was a good list, but some this week were hard not to post about the day I read them…on with the sideshow!
Postsecret – Postcards sent anonymously to the blog author; scanned and posted on Sundays. I found this site early this week and wanted to save it for today, but it was tough. This is one of the most touching, funny, dark and overall emotional blogs I have found. A few friends of mine said “it just makes me wish I could give some of those people a hug” … “so honest and things I wish I could say”. If you have time: grab something to drink, relax, close your door and try to read each one.
Pantyraider – “food, drink, monkeys, and beats from the dairy air of mondovi, wisconsin, the streets of minneapolis, and the sands of bondi beach, australia” — snippets of life, but some awesome humor tossed in the mix.
What I learned today – Really neat to me I think just because it’s like participating in someone’s life. Funny to serious…stuff that the author learns each day.
Diary of a psycho soccer mom – We all know soccer moms are crazy, she just openly admits it and tells a tale of her days. Very personal, very cool.
Bunny Suicides – Not really a blog, but it has enough pictures to tell a story that is so damn funny you have to see it!



